Last week gave me a real taste of reality... new school module and rainy weather. Not to mention the normal routines of work, kids, home, sleep... and oh wait, still working on new healthy eating and exercising habits, and training for my race in May. WHEW! Needless to say, I was not able to get in even one good run last week, and was introduced to some new workouts (Insanity anyone? ugh!) and new insight.
Yesterday I was all set to run after work... couldn't wait to leave because my legs just wanted to hit the pavement. Got to my destination, rushing because the sun was setting soon, and WHAM! Hello windy wind... FAIL. I can run in wind, but this was ridiculous. I lost my mojo, and went home in a slump.... as Dr. Seuss says in Oh the Places You'll Go!, "un-slumping yourself isn't much fun." I went home, lost total focus, made a sandwich, and then went to Sports Authority to shop for a shirt for an upcoming 5K this weekend. I just needed to get out, and clear my head... life caught up to me in that first gust of wind. I realized later last night that I was in a transition from having a great weekend with my kids to going back to being home alone. Reality... she really can sneak up when you're not paying attention. So I gave in to my slump.... did some de-cluttering in silence, and didn't try to focus on one thing. I am officially a week behind on reading for school, but will make up for that quickly. I was grateful for my CI conference call with a great group of ladies... I felt comforted in just sitting back and listening to their stories and understanding that I am not alone, and reminding myself that I don't always have to say something, or have to have something to say; that sometimes the best thing I can do for myself is Just BE. I forgave myself of what felt like a workout fail, and went to bed.
TODAY.... alarm (2 alarms actually) went off, and I was out of bed. I didn't jump out, but I got out, and got to it. Washed my face, brushed my teeth and hair, threw on my workout clothes... and I could hear the wind outside. GRRRR! Nope, gotta do it (at least that's what I was telling myself). Then the light bulb went off... treadmill at work, woo hoo! So I hurried some more... made my lunch (tuna w/tomatoes/cucumber on salad greens, yogurt/berries for a snack, and baby carrots/cauliflower for another snack, oh and an apple and a banana. Don't forget the coffee and 2 huge bottles of water!) Grabbed my stuff and shot out the door... YES! 25 minutes on the treadmill with hill intervals, and a 15-minute core workout w/my Nike Fit Club app, and I'm back on track again. Nothing like reality hitting me, and me hitting back with a little "YES I CAN!"
mc/mv
No comments:
Post a Comment